Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   Ich AND Fungus?!? Lucky me! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/ich-fungus-lucky-me-4950/)

elisa 04-12-2007 09:21 AM

Ich AND Fungus?!? Lucky me!

Hi,

I am new at this hobby so please bear with me and my many questions:

I have a 10 gallon tank, not fully cycled yet, I don't have the exact levels with me right now, but I know I don't have ammonia, plus the nitrites are a bit high, I think at around 3.0 (I'm trying to remember from yesterday) and the nitrates at 40 or 80. I did a partial water change last night.

I had a box filter that has been running from the beginning of the tank (6 weeks) but that I messed up, because not knowing better, I kept throwing away the filter floss with all of the bacteria...way to go! :(

Now I know a bit better, so the floss is staying, plus I bought a better filter, AquaClear 30, and I am having both running until the new one has its own bacteria bed going.

But, the problem is with my guppies. I have ICH (or is it ICK?). One of my girls has is, I noticed yesterday and this morning one of the boy has hints of it. I have 10 guppies in there and 2 clown loaches, how should I treat them?

I read about salt, but can salt alone treat them? Plus I keep reading different opinions as to when to put the salt: directly into the tank, or to diluite it outside the tank first, which one is right? Also is it true that you can use regular salt?

Anyway I think I will get medication tonight too, so which med is good for guppies and the clowns?