Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Completely new to fish...Crazy (?) Aquarium idea (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/completely-new-fish-crazy-aquarium-idea-49149/)

frankke18 08-10-2010 11:14 PM

Completely new to fish...Crazy (?) Aquarium idea

Fish Forum,

Hi there! Im very very new to fish...love eating them (sorry!) but have never kept any.

Long story short is i am in possesion of a 30 gal. (i believe) aquarium/terrarium that is inside my greenhouse. I was pondering what to do with it and settled on a freshwater aquarium for an aquatic carnivorous plant (eats small-microscopic invertabrates).

I then got to daydreaming...fish! An "Amazon river window"! That scene right there in Nat'l Geographic! Yeah yeah, that catfish thing, archerfish, pirannah! :shock: :-D :lol: Or maybe a southern bog type thing with walleys and sunfish and such! Hmm...

So, my imagination had me curious as to what fish would entail.

I havent a CLUE on what to do/where to start. The plant prefers a slightly acidic water enviroment (i would add peat moss to the water, i do this a lot on a smaller scale) and conditions similar to a bog. IE little to no water flow, slightly "dirty" water with lots of microfauna life, and companion plants like hyacinths are helpful as well.

Are there any fish that wouldnt die in this water haha? Im not dead set on the plant...if i could get some pirannah or similar "cool" fish for my carnivorous plant greenhouse that would be far cooler than the plant, but both would be my dream...

So please, throw out fish suggestions, filter/water/substrate/whatever suggestions...i'll get to reading!

Thanks so much!
Frankie

isimek 08-11-2010 12:46 AM