Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Ancient Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/ancient-fish/)
-   -   Peacock eel community? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/ancient-fish/peacock-eel-community-4872/)

VonRio1011 04-09-2007 11:09 AM

Peacock eel community?

I am very interested in obtaining a peacock eel. I work with aquariums for a living and the eels we have are in a tank at work with barbs. They are labeled as "Semi aggressive". However, the eels are lazy at best. They pretty much act as if they are the only ones in the tank as they take no notice of the other fish. The eels are amazing at cleaning the gravel as they are constantly hiding in it forcing the debris into the filtration system. I can tell you beyond a doubt that the eel tank is the easiest to clean.
Anyways, my question is a question of compatibility between the eel and community fish.
I would be adding him into a large aquarium that has the following species:
3 tetra von rios
1 male betta
5 neon tetras
2 black neons
2 zebra danios
3 glass fish
2 fancy guppies.
yes theres room for the eels adult size. I am mainly concerned with how his behavior will be towards the smaller docile community fish. I have asked many colleagues at work and like me, they feel this eel is particularly laid back and probably will not feed on the other fish...however none of us have ever tried a peacock eel with small tropical community so i was hoping someone had some experience with this. Thank you so much

The-Wolf 04-09-2007 12:20 PM

they may very well seem lazy in daylight but when it is dark the are one of the best ambush predators going.

I can see one very large and well fed eel in the future if you do qwhat you plan.

tophat665 04-14-2007 09:18 PM