Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   CO2 System a must? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/co2-system-must-48614/)

GoneFishin 08-03-2010 04:55 PM

CO2 System a must?
 
I have a new (still cycling) 29 gallon planted aquarium, is a CO2 system essential in keeping the plants alive? Or is it to help them grow? I didn't realize they needed a source of CO2 until today..

JohnnyD44 08-03-2010 05:10 PM

CO2 is definetly not necessary in a planted aquarium. Myself along with several other members, have low-light, no CO2 and our tanks are doing well.

If you have the right nutrients, and a well lit aquarium there is no need for CO2

GoneFishin 08-03-2010 05:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnnyD44 (Post 438657)
CO2 is definetly not necessary in a planted aquarium. Myself along with several other members, have low-light, no CO2 and our tanks are doing well.

If you have the right nutrients, and a well lit aquarium there is no need for CO2

Ok not sure if the substrate I got has all the nutrients needed for live plants. I got http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...mdn=Fish+Decor, is this ok for live plants? I would think it would be ok, but who knows, I'm still new lol

zof 08-03-2010 05:30 PM

Thats just a basic substrate it probably wont have the nutrients your plants need, you will need to dose with a liquid fert such as flourish comprehensive and if you get plants that are heavy root feeders like some swords you will need root tabs too.

CO2 should only be necessary in a high light environment or by very specific plants that will require it, most plants will do ok in low - medium light and just the ferts. If you want crazy growth that you have to trim alot then look into a CO2 system, but it seems more of a pain then its worth.

More importantly is your lighting, making sure it is about 6500k in temperature and you have enough, if you haven't yet read over the guides byron has put up in the plant section of the forum.

GoneFishin 08-03-2010 05:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zof (Post 438690)
Thats just a basic substrate it probably wont have the nutrients your plants need, you will need to dose with a liquid fert such as flourish comprehensive and if you get plants that are heavy root feeders like some swords you will need root tabs too.

CO2 should only be necessary in a high light environment or by very specific plants that will require it, most plants will do ok in low - medium light and just the ferts. If you want crazy growth that you have to trim alot then look into a CO2 system, but it seems more of a pain then its worth.

More importantly is your lighting, making sure it is about 6500k in temperature and you have enough, if you haven't yet read over the guides byron has put up in the plant section of the forum.

Yea I read through it, I got a 29 gal from petsmart. one of the starter ones, the light doesnt have any info on it (unless i have to remove it to see it). where is it at so I could look harder?

JohnnyD44 08-03-2010 05:35 PM

sand will work fine in a planted aquarium. just make sure it's layed deep enough for your extensive root systems plants need to adequately grow.

When you bring your sand home, even though it may say "rinse and ready" or "screen rinsed" I would still follow the directions in this link:

it may seem like overkill, but it is necessary.

since that substrate does not contain nutrients which are necessary, you'll need both root tabs (if you choose to have rooted plants) as well as a liquid nutrients. I can recommend these when the times comes, if you'd like.

GoneFishin 08-03-2010 05:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnnyD44 (Post 438699)
sand will work fine in a planted aquarium. just make sure it's layed deep enough for your extensive root systems plants need to adequately grow.

When you bring your sand home, even though it may say "rinse and ready" or "screen rinsed" I would still follow the directions in this link:

it may seem like overkill, but it is necessary.

since that substrate does not contain nutrients which are necessary, you'll need both root tabs (if you choose to have rooted plants) as well as a liquid nutrients. I can recommend these when the times comes, if you'd like.

Link not working? I don't even see it lol

JohnnyD44 08-03-2010 05:38 PM

my fault, my wife walked in with a plate of food and I got distracted! haha

http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/f...utorial-28436/

GoneFishin 08-03-2010 06:17 PM

Will partial water changes help clear up the water a bit? It's not to terrible, but its not crystal clear either. I washed the substrate for a couple hours and the water seemed clear lol, but today its got a haze to it...

Tank info:

No fish
The substrate listed above
2 amazon swords
topfin 30 filter

zof 08-03-2010 08:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoneFishin (Post 438698)
Yea I read through it, I got a 29 gal from petsmart. one of the starter ones, the light doesnt have any info on it (unless i have to remove it to see it). where is it at so I could look harder?

If its florescent then take the bulb out and look on the glass near the ends, it should give the k rating, if it doesn't you might want to get a new one anyways then. The kit I got from petsmart was an aquaeon, it came with a 8000k bulb, my plant would live but would not grow under it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2