Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   12 years in the hobby, new to the site (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/12-years-hobby-new-site-48501/)

Janxspirit42 08-02-2010 02:45 AM

12 years in the hobby, new to the site

Hi everyone!

As the title said, I've been keeping fish for about 12 years now. Until recently I didn't take it seriously and never really looked into how to keep a tank healthy. As you can guess, my fish would usually die within a year or two and plants never lived more than a month or so.

What changed this for me was adopting my 2 cats. They instantly loved my 60 gallon tall and spent a good deal of time sitting infront of it batting at the fish. They convinced me to get serious about it to keep them happy. Well, 5 months and several hundred dollars later it's become a true hobby and my tank is shaping up into something beautiful.http://i1046.photobucket.com/albums/...Tank072410.jpg
This is the almost completed tank.

It's a constant work in progress but so far the set up is as follows...

Filtration is done with a canister filter rated to 80 gallons with all three trays filled with bio media. The GPH flow rate wasn't high enough because it sits so low to the floor so I attached a 230 gph powerhead to the intake on the right to force feed it. The output comes back through an inline 300watt heater and into a CO2 dissolving reactor before pumping out under the pile of river stones on the left. The CO2 is provided by a 1/2 gallon DIY reactor. The lighting is a 48" 4 tube T5 fixture with LED moon lights totalling 216 watts. Circulation and oxygen are provided by a 138 gph powerhead and a 48" bubble wall. Still to come is a moss wall background and a second DIY CO2 reactor.