Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Guidance on choices (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/guidance-choices-48403/)

brains613 07-31-2010 04:19 PM

Guidance on choices

Hello, (First post)

I'm starting a tank, and could use some help. I'm pretty experienced with fish-only tanks, even though I haven't had one running for several years, but I'm new to planting. I've done quite a bit of research on plants and fish, but I'd love some feedback and guidance. I'll put my questions in blue.

Here's what I have: There are two different setups

37gal Hex tank - this one i'll set up first, I think.
Secondnature whisper filter - sufficient?
18 inch single bulb light fixture -sufficient? If so, what type of bulb should I use?
supplies for water testing

46gal bowfront
Rena XP4 filter - sufficient?
36 inch single bulb light fixture -sufficient? If so, what type of bulb should I use?
supplies for water testing.

Here's what I want to put in the first tank:
- Plants
Java moss
Java fern
Anubias - not sure which. Should I be looking for a specific type ?
Amazon and Oriental Swords - I had these on my list, but crossed them off, and I can't remember why. Any reason not to use these?
I would also like a couple floating plants, but could use some help picking them out.
Any guidance on how to plant these? I was thinking driftwood and terra cotta to attach the moss to, but lost on the rest
I need suggestions on substrate. (Something low maintenance.)

-Fish
I'm planning to choose one of the stocking schemes from Boruchowitz' Simple Guide to Freshwater Aquariums, so my most like choices are:
- 6-16 White clouds for cycling - do I NEED to cycle with fish if I plan on planting first and leaving it for a couple weeks?
- 6-8 gold barbs
- 8-15 rasboras