Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Can you over filter (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/can-you-over-filter-47496/)

spidermonkey 07-20-2010 12:15 PM

Can you over filter
 
Hi,

Is it possible to over filter a tank, I'm thinking of upgrading from a fluval 205 to a 405.

Cheers

zof 07-20-2010 01:00 PM

Yes I'm sure you can, if the flow is too great the fish will constantly struggle against the current not being able to rest. I have no clue about the fluval stuff but I'm sure when someone that comes along to help you they will at least want to know what tank size you have and what fish are in there. :)

BTW welcome to TFK

spidermonkey 07-20-2010 01:38 PM

Ok,

So I have a Fluval Roma 200 (200L), planted with live plants and currently i have 3 clown loaches, 6 glolight rasboras and 2 ruby finned silver sharks. Hope this helps

Cheers

Tyyrlym 07-21-2010 01:33 PM

Yeah, the issue isn't over filtering which makes about as much sense as your air being "too clean," its the flow. The more you're filtering the more water you're flowing and the more current you're making in the tank.

You're actually a touch on the small side in terms of filters. Given that you've got plants that's not really a bad thing as you don't want a lot of turbulence in the water and the plants themselves can help with the filtering. If I were you I'd stay with what you've got and just keep a good eye on your water parameters.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2