Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   question about ph (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/question-about-ph-47325/)

dazeek 07-17-2010 06:09 AM

question about ph

Hello. I have a 150 gallon freshwater aquarium with the following healthy fish: 5 serpae tetras, 2 tiger barbs, 3 phantom tetras, 4 dwarf gouramis, 4 australian rainbow fish,2 turquoise rainbows, 2 bosmoni rainbows, 2 small plecos, two chinese algae eaters, 7 platys,2 rummy nose tetras and two little black & white striped cat fish that I cant remember their name. Everyone in the tank gets along well.

The tank has a gravel bottom and atrificial decor. (i'm still fairly new to the hobby and haven't ventured into live plants yet)

My question is, my ph is consistently around 8.0 for the past three weeks. My tap water tests with a ph of 7.6 using the api test kit. Is there a way to gradually lower the ph so that it's in a safer parameter for my fish? (I have read that live plants would help with this but I would prefer to not add them at this time.)

kitten_penang 07-17-2010 09:13 AM

you could do a water change or you could get a ph blocker from the lfs.i've used them before and they work ^.^

dazeek 07-17-2010 09:36 AM

I plan on doing a water change again today but I just did one last sunday (50%) and the ph didnt change much. What is lfs?

Byron 07-17-2010 12:40 PM

The pH is what it is due to one or more factors which we must ascertain before you will have any luck adjusting it. Attempts will likely fail (as I'll hopefully explain below) and the fluctuating pH resulting is worse for all fish that a relatively stable pH outside their preferred range.