Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   New to Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/new-tropical-fish-47292/)

Chief 07-16-2010 04:44 PM

New to Tropical Fish

I am completely new to keeping tropical fish and like all newbs I probably have made a few mistakes and thought I'd post what I have and what my experiences are so far.

I have a tank with:

10 Neon Tetra
2 Glowlight Tetra
2 White Molly
1 Dalmation Molly
2 Guppys (Not sure which bread just orange and black tails but different patterns)

I started off with just the 2 white molly and 10 neon tetra then after about 2 days I ended up with about 23 fry which I have managed to keep in a separate net in the tank and they seem to be growing very well and feeding them on a supa vacation block as it sits well in their net and they seem to be able to feed from it well.

It's now 2 weeks into having the 2 white molly and 10 neon tetra and I added the others about 1 week ago (i've been told since that this was too early).

My only problem thus far was the loss of 1 Glowlight Tetra to the Guppy's and Molly's - noticed that they kept chasing and nipping it.

I was wondering if any of you could provide some feedback on what I have in my tank and whats happened so far please?

This is the tank I have although its not laid out the same way:

Tank Details: 28 Litre double hexagon with two connecting tubes.

http://www.tropicalfishcentre.co.uk/Gerrytank1.jpg

Chief 07-16-2010 05:03 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Attachment 14733
Attachment 14737

Byron 07-16-2010 07:56 PM

Welcome to Tropical Fish Keeping forum.