Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Fish suffocating at night, without air-stone. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/fish-suffocating-night-without-air-stone-47215/)

Kro 07-15-2010 05:59 PM

Fish suffocating at night, without air-stone.

Hello everyone! I'm new here, so forgive me if I go about this the wrong way...

I'm very new to planted aquaria and a relative novice to fish keeping, as well. However, I do like to read and research.

Through reading several different articles, forums and such, I found that planted tanks generally aren't supposed to have any real surface turbulance, to avoid "knocking" CO2 out of the tank water. Taking this into consideration, a few days ago, I decided that I'd try removing my air pump from the tank and see how my fish and plants would react. At first (and all day, with the lighting on) my fish seemed to not even notice the loss of the air pump and bubbles, but after the lights went out and my plants stopped producing O2... Well, I woke up the next day to find all of my fish (except my Cories, apparently because of their air-bubble "digesting" abilities) gulping air, at the surface of the tank. I immediately tossed two small airstones into the tank and started my airpump and within about 5 minutes, they were all back to normal. Since then, I've been running once small airstone, AT NIGHT and for about 1 hour after the lights come on. Is this the proper course of action for the health of my plants and fish?