Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   Help! Ich! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/help-ich-4705/)

hobojoe141 04-02-2007 07:36 PM

Help! Ich!

heres my tank:

20 gal long
6'' bubble wall
100 watt heater
wisper tetra filter (30 gal rating) with carbon in the filter itself

Fish:
1 CAE
2 Tiger Barbs
7 blood fin tetras
1 Blind cave Tetra
1 tire track eel (6 1/2" -7") <=======SCALELESS!

*I know my tank is slightly overstocked because of my eel*

Ok so this is my first time with Ich as i am a beginner, i did my water change (30%) and gravel vac two days ago (1 day before i got the barbs). Unfourtunatley, i think that i added water that may have been too cool for my tank (66-72 deg F) and i think that this is the main cause. **Currently the only fish infected is my blind cave tetra.**

- I dont know my water par. b/c i dont have a test kit :(, but 2 days ago my water was fine (Petco tested it)

- Current temp-80 deg. F.---27 deg. C.

Chemicals on hand are : BioZyme and API Stress coat/ water conditioner
tomorrow i will pick up ich meds. (I dont have any salt)

Current satus:
Tetras and Barbs seem a little shinny
Cave tetra infected

My main Concerns are, should I treat the Whole tank For ich even though i have an eel?

What else should i do? I dont have any aquarium salt....sadly

any help appreciated sorry for the bombardment of questions>>>

Lupin 04-02-2007 07:58 PM

In the cases of ich, you, of course, must treat the whole tank.:) It doesn't matter how many questions you can ask.:) Temperature seems ok although I would raise it by 28.:)