Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Keeping fish cool for summer, any suggestions? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/keeping-fish-cool-summer-any-suggestions-4547/)

BurningCuriosity 03-26-2007 09:15 PM

Keeping fish cool for summer, any suggestions?

I'm new with owning fish. I have two tanks right now, a 55gallon, and a 10 gallon.

I live on the third floor of an apartment. I don't have control over the heat and I don't have air conditioning.

I'm already having a hard time keeping the tank cool, and with summer on it's way, I don't know how I'm going to keep the water cool enough so I don't cook my poor fishies.

Does anyone have any advice for keeping water cool?

-Jen

leifthebunny 03-26-2007 09:21 PM

You can go with a chiller for your fish tank. Here's an article of other options: http://www.caudata.org/cc/articles/cooling.shtml

musho3210 03-26-2007 10:59 PM

chiller is the safest but most expensive way, but yes i would chose safe rather than money.

Falina 03-27-2007 03:19 AM

i am having a hard job imagining living in such a place that you worry about keeping your fish cool, rather then warm

i think my fish are much warmer then me most of the time

BurningCuriosity 03-27-2007 07:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by juliewiegand
i am having a hard job imagining living in such a place that you worry about keeping your fish cool, rather then warm

Both my fish tank temperatures are 85degrees or more, the tank thermometer stripe is at the highest it displays. I'm just worried that come summer time, my apartment could be 100degrees (hopefully not) or more and i dont want the tank water getting too hot and cooking my fish.

Fish Frenzy 03-27-2007 08:01 AM