Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   do you unplug canister filter during wc?? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/do-you-unplug-canister-filter-during-45307/)

Romad 06-17-2010 08:49 AM

do you unplug canister filter during wc??

hi all,

i'm a newbie with the canister filter (Rena XP3). since my water level won't be anywhere near the intake when i do a water change, is it even necessary to unplug the filter??

any advice appreciated.

Thx

JohnnyD44 06-17-2010 08:57 AM

I do'nt have any experience with the Rena brand canister, although I've heard wonderful things about them. I use a Marineland 350, and when I turn off the cansiter filter (still leaving it plugged in). Mine has quick release valves that allow me to disccount the canister housing for cleaning. So I turn the quick-disconnects to lock the water in the aquarium and then I remove the canister for cleaning.

I do'nt see any issue with leaving it on, I just don't because of my cleaning process. I do leave my other HOB filter run while i do pwc on that however.

Mr Fishy 06-17-2010 10:04 AM

I leave mine running. I either clean it before or after the water change.

Romad 06-17-2010 11:00 AM

good to know guys. i still have to read the manual on this filter and will have time to do a more detailed cleaning of everything at the end of the month.

in the meantime, i need to do a regular wc and vacuum so am glad to hear that this shouldn't be an issue.

thanks!

Byron 06-17-2010 11:42 AM

You're OK provided the water continues to run through the filter, otherwise it would run dry and that burns out the motor very fast. However, I see no reason to leave it on, and I always turn my filters and heaters off when doing a water change.