Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Real or Fake? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/real-fake-44897/)

squilky 06-11-2010 11:07 AM

Real or Fake?

Im new to fish keeping, and it seems kind of overwhelming at first. I was wondering what everyone's opinions were regarding the use of real plants vs artificial ones. As a beginner, should I stick with fake plants? Or dive right in and get real ones? Is there an added risk adding live plants? I've seen a number of threads that talk about how live plants actually help filter a tank, so I know there are benefits to having the real thing. I just wonder if plants will make it more difficult to develop a stable environment. So I'm looking for suggestions.

1) Should I start out with fake plants, get my tank stable, then add some real ones?
2) In regards to adding real plants, is there a process like when stocking fish? Should I only add one or two at a time or can I add a bunch all at once?
3) If you suggest some fake plants, are there any particular brands/manufacturers you would suggest. Ive seen some peoples tanks on here with fake plants and some look pretty authentic while others don't.
4) Id I use fake plants, is there a need to turn my light hood on? Do the fish benefit from the light at all? My tank gets some indirect sun from a western facing window, so I think I get enough light during the longer summer hours.

Thanks in advance,

squilky 06-11-2010 11:09 AM

Killing beneficial bacteria?