Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   fastest and easiest way to cycle a 10 gallon (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/fastest-easiest-way-cycle-10-gallon-44683/)

pumh 06-08-2010 05:40 PM

fastest and easiest way to cycle a 10 gallon
 
hi, just as the title says, i have a 10 and am going to set it up. what is the fastest and easiest way to cycle a 10 gallon? thanks :)

Byron 06-08-2010 06:09 PM

Do you intend having live plants? And what fish are planned?

Byron.

JohnnyD44 06-08-2010 06:13 PM

Welcome Pumh!!!

I agree with Byron, answer the questions above and we can all go from there!

xrayjeeper83 06-08-2010 06:18 PM

I would think using filter material from another tank would be the fastest and easiest, but im guessing this is your first tank

pumh 06-08-2010 06:26 PM

actually it's not... i'm more asking because i am still.... young( still in my teens haha but very into this hobby) haha i also have 30 gallon thats been up and running for like almost 5 going on six years i think. as for plants i want some if not a some what heavily planted tank. i am still working out what fish i am getting but from here i am for surely getting a pair of German blue rams, and most likely a nice should (6-8) harlequin rasboras, and maybe a small shoal of tetras. but rams for sure and harlequins are highly likely. I've heard of using another tanks filter media... i just never really got how to do that.... sorry for such a long post

Tomsk 06-08-2010 06:35 PM

I believe that if its a heavily planted tank it wont require cycling as long as you dont heavily stock it in one go,though dont quote me on this :-).Im sure a more experienced person like Byron can give a more accurate answer.

Tomsk

xrayjeeper83 06-08-2010 06:46 PM

From everything Ive read, just take some of your filter media from your 30 stick it in the filter in your 10 and you have almost instant cycle, someone please correct me if im wrong

pumh 06-08-2010 09:00 PM

oh, i had suddenly got an idea, lol. so if i fill my almost my whole 10 gallon with water from my thirty gallon will it aid in speeding up the cycling process?

Byron 06-08-2010 09:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pumh (Post 400037)
actually it's not... i'm more asking because i am still.... young( still in my teens haha but very into this hobby) haha i also have 30 gallon thats been up and running for like almost 5 going on six years i think. as for plants i want some if not a some what heavily planted tank. i am still working out what fish i am getting but from here i am for surely getting a pair of German blue rams, and most likely a nice should (6-8) harlequin rasboras, and maybe a small shoal of tetras. but rams for sure and harlequins are highly likely. I've heard of using another tanks filter media... i just never really got how to do that.... sorry for such a long post

This is not a long post, pumh...I write long posts.:lol:

As someone mentioned, if you intend plants, that's the quickest. As long as there are sufficient plants to balance the fish, the tank can be set up and will "cycle itself" when the first fish are added. Plant all the plants you can get and want, and the day after add a few small fish that you want. You can have quite a few, but to be safe as this is your first time doing this I would play it safe.

The reason this works is because plants use the ammonia/ammonium as their nitrogen which is a macro-nutrient. They are so good at this, they outcompete the nitrosomonas bacteria. The nitrifying bacteria in a well-planted tank are fewer than in the same tank without plants for this reason. I have never had ammonia or nitrite above zero in any of my tanks when I set them up, and I've been doing this for 15 years.

Of the fish you mention, don't use the rams, they are very susceptible to fluctuating water and should only be added to an established tank (2-3 months). The rasbora would work, or the tetras probably but not ones like cardinals or rummynose, they are also sensitive like the rams. Anyway, I would only have one group of either in with a pair of rams, and perhaps a trio of corys or a single catfish for the bottom. I would not overload a 10g with the rams and two groups of shoaling fish. Either the rasbora or a suitable tetra, 6 of whichever, once it is planted. Then after 2 months, the pair of rams.

Byron.

zof 06-08-2010 09:06 PM

Bacteria wont move with water, they only grow on surfaces in the water, I'm sure a few are in the water but not nearly as many as live on the surfaces, you could also try to move decorations over from the main tank but that won't contain as much as the filter media as they are designed to have as much surface area as possible.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2