Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Water Chemistry (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/water-chemistry/)
-   -   Freshwater Dip (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/water-chemistry/freshwater-dip-4466/)

musho3210 03-22-2007 10:22 PM

Freshwater Dip
 
I was reading about this and it said you need to get the PH the same as the tank to prevent stress when moved around, would it be alright to use those ph adjusting chemicals for this since the water will only be used for however long the fish will be dipped

Falina 03-23-2007 09:59 AM

i would guess that would be fine as i think sometimes the problem with these chemicals is that they wear off after a while and so can cause inbalances but like i said thats just my guess.

what i was wondering thoguh, is why the water would be of a different ph anyway? i assume you fill your tank with tap water, which will have a ph or whatever it has, and then the water used for the dip is tap water also, no?

maybe im just being stupid by asking this, so correct me if i am

fs49864 03-23-2007 10:44 AM

hmmm... I would, some also suggest using a chemical to make ammonia not effect fish.
It shouldn't last very long so I'm not sure how important it is.

But at least my tap water is 7.2 and my tank water is 8.4 ph.

usmc121581 03-23-2007 10:48 AM

I would use the same PH balance stuff that you would use for the tank. I use seachem 8.3 for my PH and would do the same if I ever do a freshwater dip. Also I believe if it says for freshwater and saltwater "ON MOST THINGS" It isnt any good for saltwater.

Falina 03-23-2007 07:14 PM

Quote:

But at least my tap water is 7.2 and my tank water is 8.4 ph.
ok ive concluded that i am just being stupid, but id still like to know...

why isnt your tank water the same as your tap water? surely if you fill it up with tap water itll be the same??

usmc121581 03-23-2007 07:32 PM

I never put tap water in my tank. Its bad for a saltwater tank. But thats me.

leifthebunny 03-23-2007 07:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by juliewiegand
Quote:

But at least my tap water is 7.2 and my tank water is 8.4 ph.
ok ive concluded that i am just being stupid, but id still like to know...

why isnt your tank water the same as your tap water? surely if you fill it up with tap water itll be the same??

Depends on what is in your tank, oxygen levels, .... I have 7.0 tap and my tank is 6.6.

Falina 03-23-2007 07:54 PM

Quote:

I never put tap water in my tank. Its bad for a saltwater tank. But thats me.
ive never had a saltwater tank so know nothing about them im afraid. what do you use then rather than tap water? im just interested

musho3210 03-23-2007 08:14 PM

you use RO water with a high quality salt mix, so you wont get unwanted phosphates and nitrates.

Falina 03-23-2007 08:23 PM

:oops: what is RO water?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2