Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   canister filter question (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/canister-filter-question-4405/)

billy0510 03-20-2007 06:16 PM

canister filter question
 
i was wondering if anyone knew how cannister filters worked??? Does it work off of pump suction which then pumps the water to the tank? Or does it work off of suction and siphon???? I wanted to pump from a tank(sump of sorts) below my main tank up to the main tank using two ehiem 2217 canisters. about a 4 foot difference between the two tanks. Over all i'm trying to eliminate my heaters and filter tubes from the main tank and set up a automatic water change system without making a full sump filter. I only have enough room under my tank for a smaller tank then i would need to have a full blown sump. 125 gal main tank

tophat665 03-20-2007 10:43 PM

The downhill side needs an overflow assembly, or your sump will flood when the power goes out. I am not sure if there would be a problem on the uphill side. The instructions say that the filter needs to be lower than the tank for normal operation, but ths isn't really normal operation. Also you'll need a check valve on the input end of the uphill side to keep from losing siphon in that direction - and it might be a pain in the posterior to prime that side if you can't backflush to siphon water into the canister. (If yu got a spare quick disconnect, you could have one with the check valve for operation and one without for priming.

So - overflow on the downhill, check valve on the uphill, no guarantee that the uphill side will work, and it'll be a real chore to get running again after cleaning.

You might be better off hooking them up to the tank in the standard fashion, and using an overflow box to the sump and pump back up.

billy0510 03-21-2007 11:40 PM

the more i look into it i believe I wont be able to use the canisters for this operation. I really want to get the filter inlet and outlet out of my tank i might try to figure out how. any suggestions? once again i dont have enough room to set up a sutable sump filter so i have to stick with the ehiems

tophat665 03-22-2007 07:03 AM

You're going to have to have some filter hardware in the tank. Short of drilling the tank you'll need at a minimum the inlets and spraybars. If you're clever about decorating, the inlets are easy to hide.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2