Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Dying Fish... (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/dying-fish-43710/)

doppsterjr 05-26-2010 01:03 AM

Dying Fish...

I have a month old aquarium, so I guess you could say it is still a "new" tank. It's a three gallon tank. I originally tried to start off with some easy fish because I am new to the fishkeeping hobby. I got two glofish and a dalmation molly. The molly had babies, but I got rid of all of them as soon as I possibly could. A week or so later one of the glofish died after I cleaned the tank. I replaced it with a guppy. A week or so after that my molly died. The day before I noticed that she was turning a darker color and my mom said she stayed towards the bottom. Then I had a glofish and a guppy in the tank. A few days later my new guppy started getting a more yellowish color and it appeared that it was shedding it's skin. He started swimming funny, and eventually died. I replaced him with two platties. It's been a couple days since. I took a water sample to get it tested at Petsmart, and the lady there said my nitrates were off the chart and to do a gallon of water change every other day and to put conditioner in the water. I've been doing that for a few days and my fish seemed to be swimming around more instead of hanging out in the hidey hole or at the bottom. I noticed today that one of the platties has yellow colored things sticking to him like the guppy did. What am I doing wrong? What do I need to do to fix it? I really like having my fish and it frustrates me that they continue to die. Please help.

Specs:
- 3 gallon octagon tank with filter and hood light.
- One mickey mouse platy, one red wag platy, one green glofish.