Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Where'd my Nitrites go?? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/whered-my-nitrites-go-43369/)

Guko 05-20-2010 04:37 PM

Where'd my Nitrites go??
 
Okay so its now been two months and I've been changing the water frequently to keep my ammonia levels down. They stayed around 0.50- 1.00ppm (mostly at 0.50) Anyway. My tank all of a sudden on its own went down to 0.00 in 2 days. I havent changed the water in about 4 days to see if my ammonia will go up and it hasnt. So I figure my cycle has started...

However I have no nitrite levels. Still a 0ppm... Am I missing something? If your wondering what My tank is, this is it from my old post when I first started.

http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/f...p-cycle-40695/

Only Change is instead of having hallogen bulbs I know have 50/50 bulbs. No new fish. Hope you guys can help me out. I dunno if its safe to put in new fish yet or not...

Castro235 05-20-2010 06:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Guko (Post 387999)
Okay so its now been two months and I've been changing the water frequently to keep my ammonia levels down. They stayed around 0.50- 1.00ppm (mostly at 0.50) Anyway. My tank all of a sudden on its own went down to 0.00 in 2 days. I havent changed the water in about 4 days to see if my ammonia will go up and it hasnt. So I figure my cycle has started...

However I have no nitrite levels. Still a 0ppm... Am I missing something? If your wondering what My tank is, this is it from my old post when I first started.

http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/f...p-cycle-40695/

Only Change is instead of having hallogen bulbs I know have 50/50 bulbs. No new fish. Hope you guys can help me out. I dunno if its safe to put in new fish yet or not...

Although I'm not an expert on the cycle process, to me it sounds like your cycle is over.

From what I recall, your ammonia goes up, then it drops to 0 and your nitrites go up, and then finally your nitrites go to 0, and you get nitrates.

I would test your water for nitrates, in the end a healthy tank should have 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, and a low nitrate(controlled by water changes)

Guko 05-25-2010 09:32 AM

I have a simple dipstick for the nitrates and it says that its zero as well. I have algae growth now on my sails on my sunken ship so i want to assume My cycle is done but I've read that phosphate levels can mask the nitrites. My Ammonia has stayed Zero for a while now which is awesome So I know my Cycle is finally started what I'm wondering is why my nitrites never spiked and if thats normal in the process.

1077 05-25-2010 10:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Guko (Post 390547)
I have a simple dipstick for the nitrates and it says that its zero as well. I have algae growth now on my sails on my sunken ship so i want to assume My cycle is done but I've read that phosphate levels can mask the nitrites. My Ammonia has stayed Zero for a while now which is awesome So I know my Cycle is finally started what I'm wondering is why my nitrites never spiked and if thats normal in the process.

Nitrite spikes are sometimes missed ,and I have had them appear and test zero the following day.
Am troubled by no nitrate reading, but test strips are notoriously innaccurate.
Might take sample of water to local fish store if you can find one that doesn't also use strips and see if the results match yours.
Or you could add one small fish and monitor the ammonia levels closely. If the ammonia remains at zero,and nitrites remain at zero, then you could in my view SLOWLY add one or two SMALL fish with week in between new additions.
Would under no circumstances add too many fish at once. This would most assuredly result in ammonia levels rising to lethal levels until bacteria could catch up with the load.
Many folks also begin adding too much food with the addition of new fishes ,this too can cause ammonia levels to become lethal. Slow and steady stocking ,and careful feedings will produce best results.

aunt kymmie 05-25-2010 11:03 AM

+1 to 1077. Even with a liquid test kit the nitrate test can give faulty readings, due to operator error. You REALLY have to shake those tubes after adding reagent to get a proper reading.

Guko 05-25-2010 06:30 PM

I went and got my water tested and it seems like my nitrates and nitrites and ammonia is all good. I got two new female sword tails and gonna see where it goes. I have my kits out and will do my test tomorrow afternoon to see how its going. I'll keep you guys posted. thanks for everyones help


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2