Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Are these rocks aquarium safe? Anyone know? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/these-rocks-aquarium-safe-anyone-know-42665/)

Austin 05-09-2010 06:06 PM

Are these rocks aquarium safe? Anyone know?

3 Attachment(s)
Hey guys I picked up some rock fragments from neighbor's that were getting their yards done. They had extra fragments. Anyone know what type of rock it is and if it is safe? I really hope its safe! It's really beautiful I think. :/

JohnnyD44 05-09-2010 06:41 PM

I'm not a rock expert, but they look like a form of slate. Slate would be ok in an aquarium. You should put some in a bucket of water and measure the pH, let it sit for 24 hours and measure the pH again...

Austin 05-09-2010 06:51 PM

Well thanks for the reply. :) I will do that unless someone knows FOR sure. :) Still may do that anyways.

TexasTanker 05-09-2010 08:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Austin (Post 380438)
Well thanks for the reply. :) I will do that unless someone knows FOR sure. :) Still may do that anyways.

You don't know what it has been treated with or exposed to. I would soak and water change it for a week minimum and water test it a few times. If you have a less prized tank you could test it in AFTER you've soaked, rinsed, tested (and repeated) that's be a good start.

Austin 05-09-2010 08:59 PM

It's just my fry tank at the moment.

If there is chemicals and I put it in the fish tank would I notice pretty soon with fish dying or would it slowly kill the fish ie mutate them? :/

TexasTanker 05-09-2010 09:12 PM

I doubt you'd get ninja turtles or anything. IT would probably screw with your cycled tank's benny bacteria, and cause a spike and probable/possible fishie death.