Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Help recommend me a filter? ^_^ (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/help-recommend-me-filter-_-42644/)

Austin 05-09-2010 12:41 PM

Help recommend me a filter? ^_^

Hi everyone,

I was thinking of buying

https://www.petsolutions.com/Default...temID=30102431

2 of the "CASCADE 300" for my 44g planted tank.

But I was wondering if 1 "CASCADE 400" would work just as well if not better.

I have one cascade 300 in my 29g and it works great and my tank is on the brink of a little overstocked.

Let me know what ya'll think. :)

JohnnyD44 05-09-2010 07:43 PM

I've never used that filter before, but I've heard good things about them. If you're looking at a planted tank, I would recommend some kind of canister filter....something which will minimize the disruption on the surface to keep your plants healthy....

you're on the right path with a submersible filter though.

Austin 05-09-2010 07:56 PM

Well, I'm a bit tight atm with money do you think these could work? All the canister filters I've seen are quite expensive.

xrayjeeper83 05-09-2010 08:38 PM

Im in the same boat, what canister filters do you suggest?

Mr Fishy 05-09-2010 11:29 PM

I've always loved the Fluval canisters and I would have one on my new setup but the cost was just too much after buying everything else.But the Aquaclear 110 seems to be doing its job even though it is a planted tank.

rsn48 05-10-2010 01:13 AM

I would suspect in Southern California there should be some active selling of used aquarium equipment, I know here in Vancouver locally we have an active buy/sell area. I've bought a used aquarium from a Vancouver listing. Consider Eheim's or Rena's and look for used unit.