Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   Please help my Tetras!! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/please-help-my-tetras-41700/)

scaredfishkeeper 04-23-2010 12:56 PM

Please help my Tetras!!

I have a 20 gallon tank with 3 peppered corries, 3 blackskirt tetras, 2 serpae tetras (I had another one until last night), and I just added a bushynose pleco. I'm sure that my problem stems from not quarantining my pleco. (I'm really new to this and didn't know about it til now). Anyhow, one of my Serpaes was swimming kinda sideways and had a bulging/red eye. The blackskirts have a shiny granular look to their skin (like glitter). I ran to my LFS they gave me pimafix and ick cure. I removed the filter then I used 1 tablet of the ick cure and 2 capfuls of the pimafix. The serpae died during the night. The blackskirts are hanging out at the top of the tank. (They've never done that before). I took the dead serpae to the LFS they said it could be septic something or other. They told me to do a small water change, and add the filter back in. Then treat with API"s General Cure (anti-parasitic med) and Triple Sulfa (anti-bacterial med) in a couple of hours. They also said not to feed them today. Does this sound right? I did the water change about 2 hours ago. Oh, and I had them test my water last night and today and all readings are in the good range.Oh, and the tank has been healthy and running for 5 months now. I think this stems from the Pleco.

rsn48 04-23-2010 02:15 PM