Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   Does this guppy have fin rot? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/does-guppy-have-fin-rot-40872/)

adolwyn 04-10-2010 11:44 PM

Does this guppy have fin rot?

Hi everyone,

I'm really new to keeping fish. I'll admit this. I bought two guppies to add to my tank today and because I was in a rush, I didn't check them both closely. When I got the fish home and had them added to my tank, I noticed that the tail of one of the guppies was looking odd. The top was very ragged and stringy. Some googling told me that fin rot might be at play here (because I really don't want to deal with a tank full of sick fish!) but this guppy doesn't have the discolouration at the ends of his tail that so many sites seem to suggest. So, I bring this to you... the experts!

What follows are my answers to the questions you asked that I post, to the best of my knowledge. I'll admit I don't treat my aquarium like it's an extension of myself, so some things I just can't remember. I keep my fish because I like watching them, really; it hasn't progressed to full-blown hobby, yet. With that said, they are living creatures and I sure don't want them to be suffering if I can help.

1. What is the size of your tank?
20L

2. What are your water parameters? State the brand of test kit used.
QuickDip 6 in 1 Test Strips:
Nitrate: 20ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
GH: 300ppm
Chlorine: 0ppm
KH: 120ppm
PH: 7.2

Ammonia Quick Dip brand: 0ppm

3. Is your aquarium set up freshwater or brackish water?
Freshwater

4. How long the aquarium has been set up?
Five months

5. What fish do you have? How many are in your tank? How big are they? How long have you had them?