Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Caterpiller-like critter in my freshwater tank? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/caterpiller-like-critter-my-freshwater-tank-40501/)

Galentio 04-05-2010 02:52 AM

Caterpiller-like critter in my freshwater tank?

So, this is my first attempt at a Freshwater tank with live plants. I've got Flourite with all sorts of fun plants in it. Driftwood from Petco, some granite rocks thrown in. The tank has been up and running for almost 2 months now and is pretty much stable (with the exception of a high ph which I'm going to remedy with some peat moss) and I'm seeing all kinds of...erm...critters, come to life.

First there were the snails. Little buggers, maybe as big as pea, dark greyish/black shell, they just mosey along doing their thing, don't seem to be bothering my live plants so I've left them alone as long as they don't start multiplying out of control.

Then there were the little teeny tiny white worms I found one or two of sifting through my substrate. I checked about them online and all reports said they were harmless and just eating the excess fish flakes and such. Okay, worms are kinda odd, but I guess thats part of the ecosystem too.