Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Established tank after cycled (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/established-tank-after-cycled-40380/)

Cherokeewind 04-03-2010 11:17 AM

Established tank after cycled

I was wondering what the difference is between a cycled tank and an established tank. My 55 gallon tank just finished cycling last week, but how do I know when it is established? I'm new at the hobby, so I am starting with a freshwater community tank.

Byron 04-03-2010 06:57 PM

A "cycled" tank is one that has gone through the initial nitrification bacteria process and there is now a colony of nitrosomonas and nitrospira bacteria living on surfaces in the aquarium sufficient to handle the amount of ammonia (and then resulting nitrite) entering the tank from the fish and biological processes (organic waste breakup, etc) or the "ammonia" used to effect the cycle. At this point it is safe to add a few fish, they will increase the ammonia and the bacteria will multiply to catch up. Provided the tank is not overstocked, or new fish are not added too many at a time (leaving a few days between new fish), the cycle will continue.