Tropical Fish Keeping banner

I might have to reconsider my tank...

1K views 9 replies 4 participants last post by  Rue 
#1 ·
...I've been researching and planning my planted tank for a couple of months now...

...I've researched tank sizes and settled on a 75 g, substrates, substrate heaters, lights, canopies, fertilzers, plants, fish, CO2 canisters, biotopes...etc.

Now I'm wondering if I'm currently in the mood to look after it all...

Something else I've always wanted is an Oscar tank...

...I wouldn't need the lights, the CO2, the substrate, the substrate heater...it's sounding nice and simple...

...but is it???

If I want 2 Oscars and a Pleco...I'd then need a 120 g tank...and huge filtration, right? Then what? 10% water changes weekly to keep up with all the pooping these fish do? How much do I overfilter by? LOL...I'm gonna drive myself crazy long before I even bring the tank home...

That also means I'll be keeping my over-stocked 25g, and looking for a new tank for the 2 goldfish and the dojo...

*ARGH*

See less See more
#4 ·
I'm not sure I want to give up my sofa just yet...I've already given up a corner of the family room to my parrots :lol:

Should I get the Oscar tank, I'd end up keeping the 25 g community as is...and would have to upgrade my goldfish tank as well...that would give me 3 tanks to look after...and that's 2 more than I had originally planned for... :wink:

#7 ·