Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   floating plant for unplanted tank? - newb question (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/floating-plant-unplanted-tank-newb-question-39925/)

tanker 03-27-2010 02:28 AM

floating plant for unplanted tank? - newb question

I have new 35-litre and a 75-litre tanks. Both have plastic plants. I'm still learning, so I don't want to get into fully planted tanks (yet!- maybe in the future....). I just want to concentrate on getting the fish established and keep them healthy when the tanks are cycled.

Is it possible to just get a floating plant for tanks with plastic plants? Advantages/disadvantages? Is it a completely stupid idea/question?

The smaller tank has "1xCFL Max %W E14 TC-DSE". The other has 2 x 11W fluorescent tubes with "red/white" written on them.

Thanks for any advice.

Angel079 03-27-2010 06:42 AM

I have to say up front I do not know what lights you're talking about there so I don't know how well they'll do on plants but that could be changed any time so no worries too stop you there for right now.

What I would strongly encourage you to try as a floating plants is Pennywort. This plant can either simply float in your tank OR you can plant it into the gravel. So as you said you're not all there yet with the live plants I think this would be a great option for you to have indeed floating plants and maybe test around a little to see just how simple planting is. Pennywort also grow's rather quickly so I think that'd also be nice for you.

tanker 03-27-2010 06:49 AM

Thanks for the suggestion. I'll look for it next time I go to the shop.

Angel079 03-27-2010 07:09 AM