Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Nooob here (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/nooob-here-3942/)

Kate 03-07-2007 12:42 AM

Nooob here

Hey kiddos!

I'm obviously extremely new (to this forum and to fish), but unlike most forums where members are a bit exclusive you all have given some wonderful support and advice, despite my utter ignorance. Thank you ;).

I'm a college student with lots of experience with other animals (small animal vet tech/horse trainer here), but until recently had no idea that fish were so amazing. I've found very quickly that setting up and maintaining a tank is a much more humbling experience than expected. So far all the people on the forum have been amazing and I'm REALLY excited about learning as much about ..well .. everything... as possible lol and getting to know everyone. <3

So yep. That's about it. I hope everyone's week is going well! (Isn't it Friday yet!?)

reverendred 03-07-2007 01:20 AM

from one college student to another... welcome to the site! what kind of set up do you have ...tank.... fish etc...

Daz 03-07-2007 01:41 AM

Hello Kate. :wave:

Kate 03-07-2007 01:43 AM

20gal freshwater right now - partially planted (1/2 plastic, 1/2 java fern lol). 3 3-inch balas, 3 small gouarmis, two cherry barbs and a small peacock eel. I did the really dumb new-to-the-hobby thing and bought the fish without much consideration of the different temps they need or without cycling the tank (I didn't even know such a practice existed), so now I'm fighting to keep the water levels balanced and all the fish happy. ::kicks self:: I have a 55gal that I'm working on setting up as the freshwater tank so the fish have more room and habitat, but need to do a little more research on plants and well.. everything.