Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   I'm new! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/im-new-39149/)

YellowOctopus 03-13-2010 08:53 PM

I'm new!

Hi!

I'm a biology student in SE Wisconsin. Feel free to call me Sam if you want, though I'm likely to respond to my username, "hey you" or any variation thereof. I'm not all that new to aquaria, having kept one for a while several years ago and just starting one last April. My current setup is a 20 gal tropical tank (hoping to upgrade to a 27 gal hex tank and a 10 gal briny tank soon...) with 4 danios, 4 neon tetras, 2 celebes rainbows, 1 gold two-bar platy, a ghost shrimp, an algae eater and a bumblebee goby. I'm mostly here for advice, though it's always nice to meet other people in the hobby.

I'm also a beginner herp hobbyist, having a sole bearded dragon (Wally, who is 11 months) and hoping for a couple more (snake or a frilled dragon) soonish. I work as a lab assistant in an environmental toxicology lab on the Lake using mostly zebrafish/danios. I'm also a SCUBA diver.

Yeah...that was a really scattered intro, but hopefully it made some semblance of sense.

Sam

CSFishtank546 03-13-2010 09:09 PM

Fresh water right? I only have a 10 gallon tank which is annoying since I want to keep lots of types of fish. How often do you clean your tank? I am fairly new to fishkeeping and everyone says something different!

Romad 03-13-2010 09:13 PM

Hello and welcome to the forum. What an interesting job you have :)

YellowOctopus 03-13-2010 09:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CSFishtank546 (Post 343782)