Tropical Fish Keeping banner

Advise for cleaning a 55 gallon aquarium I am rescuing

8K views 99 replies 10 participants last post by  Sylverclaws 
#1 ·
I hope someone will be able to help me rather quickly. I'm hoping to rescue a 55 gallon aquarium today with five fish in it. I have no experience with aquariums but have always wanted one and am willing to put in the time to learn.

I have read how to move it. My problem is that the tank has not been taken care of as the original owner was elderly and his daughter left it at the house. The house is sold and I am getting it from the estate sale the ends tomorrow.

The tank is very dirty. My avatar is a photo of it, but it's difficult to see.

Should I rinse the gravel and the decorations in it? They're covered with funky stuff. Is there a special kind of solution to use to clean those and the inside of the tank itself? I will be completely emptying the tank for the move and would like to get it clean and the water at the right ph.

Any advise will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

#2 ·
Hello, I would put the fish in a sterilite or rubbermaid container with an airstone and fresh dechlorinated water. I recommend a large bottle of Seachem Prime{you will need it, try to find the 2 litre}
I would wash the tank out with white vinegar or a light bleach solution. Your choice to keep or replace the substrate. I personally would replace it. I would also suggest you ditch it before the move. Lifting the tank with a wet bottom full of heavy gravel can easily pop the bottom. Good luck with your rescue.

#4 · (Edited)
If it has fish in it, and you're keeping it, then no you don't want to take out the gravel and wash it. You will need a gravel vacuum though.