Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Filter is broken! HELP! :X (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/filter-broken-help-x-38248/)

Austin 02-28-2010 03:54 AM

Filter is broken! HELP! :X
 
Gahh!!!! The new filter I ordered came CRACKED. And like an idiot, I glued it with silicone and only let it set for a few hours. Thought with that thin layer it would be long enough. I'm so mad right now. It was kind of loud and I was trying to sleep. Normally if I clear out the filter intake it gets quieter (It gets noisy when there's something blocking the flow.) Long story short.... The silicone came off and now the stupid crack won't let it fit on right so it just falls off (part of it)...

My question is will my fish be ok with a night without filtration? I'm going to buy a new filter tomorrow I think cus I don't feel like screwing with that filter and constantly having to worry about it's fragility. I'm scared for my fish though... :( My tank is planted as you all know, and I put the filter media inside a breeder box floating in the tank so that maybe some of the beneficial bacteria will be there...

I think my fish will be fine but I need some reassurance... if they are NOT going to be fine please tell me what to do! :( Help! :-(

Austin 02-28-2010 04:31 AM

Sorry to bump this but I reaaalllyyy need an answer pleaseeeee. :( I can't sleep if I'm worrying about my fish and it's 1:30 AM. :/

iamntbatman 02-28-2010 05:07 AM

Hmm I'm trying to remember. Didn't you get this to replace an old filter? Do you still have that one? You could try putting this filter media in that filter and putting it on the tank temporarily.

If not, I think you should be ok with the filter media floating in the tank overnight. I would try to get a filter (with the media you've got) up and running as soon as you can, though.

Austin 02-28-2010 05:10 AM

Ya, well the media is chopped into super small pieces to fit into the new one. And the other filter has been dried up for a few days so I'm guessing any of the good bacteria is dead. So I think it's pointless to set it back up... all it is is water running through it without the bacteria... the plants should take care of ammonia right? I'm just wondering if they do at night time since they're not photosynthesizing... but prolly. :/

Guess I'll try to get one ASAP... :/ Since I have live plants though I'd think it should be ok...

iamntbatman 02-28-2010 05:13 AM

Is there any way you could put the media from the current broken filter into some sort of mesh bag (like a filter media bag or some pantyhose or something like that?) and put that in the old filter? I think that would be better than just floating it in the tank because that way water would be moving through it, which would keep the bacteria alive and let it function better than if it was just floating in the tank.

Austin 02-28-2010 05:20 AM

mehhh im so tireddd. i guess i could tho. i have a net from my breeder box...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2