Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   new member with nano tank looking for some advice (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/new-member-nano-tank-looking-some-37917/)

peter1979 02-24-2010 06:25 PM

new member with nano tank looking for some advice

I have just bought a fluval edge tank for a limited space i have in my study. I am a complete novice to fish keeping but have been reading a lot over the past couple of weeks. I started a fishless cycle today and am contemplating the fish i should get when the tank is ready.
Here are my ideas, either...
6 x chili rasboras
6 x galaxy rasbora
6 x endlers livebearers (male i guess as they look nicest)

i would like to add to this either some small shrimp, a betta or a small cat(s) if the space allows.

I have fairly hard alkaline water, tested today at around 7.8-8pH.

My questions are, what are my choices like, what would be best and of the additional fish/invertabrates what would go well? If you have some better ideas of what i could add then i would be keen to here.

Cheers
Peter

Edit: just to add i am also keen on Badis badis, are they too big? would they go well with my initial ideas?

aunt kymmie 02-24-2010 06:56 PM

Hi Peter, welcome to the forum! Exactly how many gallons is your nano tank??

Angel079 02-24-2010 07:11 PM

Apart from the size question which is essential when talking about stocking few other thoughts from my end...

Had you considered live plants? As smaller tanks are pretty easily wacked out of balance specially for someone new to the hobby and live plants (to an extent of cause) will help you a lot there.