Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cichlids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/)
-   -   Is it possible to introduce a new mate to my Angel. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/possible-introduce-new-mate-my-angel-37753/)

Magzmoir 02-22-2010 10:19 AM

Is it possible to introduce a new mate to my Angel.

Hi there,

Im relatively new to tropical fish keeping, I have a 190L Trigon tank with x5 young Kribs, 8 Cory's (4 panda's, 4 simulus ? I think they are called), 1 young BN Plec and 1 young golden loach and up until a few days ago 2 adult Angels 1 golden 1 zebra.

The angels were a mating pair and had spawned several times in my previous (smaller) tank. Disaster struck I noticed my female go off her food and then noticed she had red hair like structure protruding from her vent. I looked it up and apparently it was Camallanus worms. I treated the tank according to info I found on the web with Panacur (fenbezedol).

Only the Female was showing signs of infection and after the treatment the worms promptly disapeared from her vent area. She was still looking very bloated and wasnt eating however. Well about 2 days after treatment I woke to find her dead :( I cant see any further signs of infection in any of the other fish but I am going to do another round of Panacur treatment to make sure followed by a good water change and gravel hoover.

Im left with a dilemma now...since my angels were my main attraction I loved having a pair to centre on. My single male zebra angel now looks very lonely. I know its probably doubtful but is it possible to introduce him to another female or is it most likey he would just try to beat her up ?