Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Best way to Cycle Tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/best-way-cycle-tank-367642/)

Ianwp 03-18-2014 01:33 PM

Best way to Cycle Tank

I am new to aquariums, so i did a lot of research on how to setup new tanks. In my research i found a website that sells active sponges which already contain all the bacteria you need to setup your tank successfully. I had such a great experience with the product that I have to tell you all.

https://www.angelsplus.com/FiltersSpongeActive.htm Here is the link to the actual product. You will need an air pump to set it up, but this is something you will usually need anyway. Total cost to me was a little under $21 for the sponge and shipping.

After about 2-3 days my tank was fully cycled, and I used the sponge to set up a quarantine tank afterwards. That is whats great too you can use the sponge, its not just a bottle thing and throw away. It has been 2 weeks since I used the active sponge and no problems I check the water everyday still just to make sure and its at perfect parameters.

If you want a no-hassle, fast and cheap way to setup your tank, i highly recommend you buy this product.

rsskylight04 03-18-2014 02:41 PM

Great point ian, you could use that sponge to.start literaly hundreds of tanks, even thousands ( or more!). I'm glad it worked for you and I hope new aquarists will have similar success with that product, its a great idea to sell pre cycled filter media. Not everyone has access to the stuff and I'm sure your link will help many new fishkeepers.
Thanks!

Hallyx 03-20-2014 07:44 AM

I've heard good reports of that seeded sponge, and I'm glad it worked for you.