Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cichlids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/)
-   -   New 55g tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/new-55g-tank-36351/)

dylan94 01-31-2010 03:15 PM

New 55g tank

I was thinking about setting up a 55g tank. i am torn between two setups.

SETUP #1 :
-4 angels
-8 peppered cories
-2 dwarf gouramis
-8 black skirt tetras

SETUP #2:
- 6 discus
-8 cardinal tetras
-8 panda cories

I know discus are delicate and specific when it comse to water parameters. I have done a lot of research and I have been keeping tropical fish for about 5 years now. i understand water parameters really well and I will closely monitor their water. (pH 6.5, soft, 80-82 degrees). Any comments will help, are either of those ideas considered overstocked??? I am sure either will look nice, but I love discus. Also I know discus can cost minimum 20$ sometimes... I plan on gettin 6 juveniles and raising them up together, therefore, they will be cheaper and most likely get along well together. Please help :) I cant decide...:-)

rrcoolj 01-31-2010 03:55 PM

Both setups look fine to me just watch out for when or if they pair off, then you could run into trouble. Discus are great but challenging but if you want to go for it, got for it. Again though, watch out for pairs. I would personally do discus since I know they could be a fun fish to keep. Oh and I've seen discus cost twice that so realize thier not cheap fish. Your work will show when they grow up.

Good luck with whatever you choose!

Angel079 01-31-2010 04:24 PM

I think for the long run you'll be MUCH happier with the 1st set up. I'd not house a total of 6 ADULT discus in a 55g that's just wee too tight and asking for troubles. For the Cardinals they'll be to small = snack food once these Discus are adults.

mrdemin 01-31-2010 04:52 PM