Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   newbie cycling aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/newbie-cycling-aquarium-35712/)

scottos72 01-21-2010 03:19 PM

newbie cycling aquarium

Hi everyone ,new to fishkeeping and aquariums . Got a new aquarium for xmas, and decided right from the start to use it. I have been cycling my tank ( 100 litre ), since 26/12/2009, almost a month. I am fish-less cycling by the way and not making any fish suffer for my hobbie. I have used a frozen prawn from day one, and i also have water conditioners and stress-zyme which i add weekly. I have been testing my water daily and for the past couple of days things have stayed the same. My readings are ammonia-0.25ppm, nitrate-5ppm and nitrite-0.ppm. My question is, are these readings normal for a tank coming up to 4 weeks cycling ? Also can anyone supply any tips on what fish would create a peaceful community.:roll:

stephanieleah 01-22-2010 07:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scottos72 (Post 310137)
Hi everyone ,new to fishkeeping and aquariums . Got a new aquarium for xmas, and decided right from the start to use it. I have been cycling my tank ( 100 litre ), since 26/12/2009, almost a month. I am fish-less cycling by the way and not making any fish suffer for my hobbie. I have used a frozen prawn from day one, and i also have water conditioners and stress-zyme which i add weekly. I have been testing my water daily and for the past couple of days things have stayed the same. My readings are ammonia-0.25ppm, nitrate-5ppm and nitrite-0.ppm. My question is, are these readings normal for a tank coming up to 4 weeks cycling ? Also can anyone supply any tips on what fish would create a peaceful community.:roll:

hi welcome to the forum : )