Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Advice for stocking a new 50-65 gallon planted tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/advice-stocking-new-50-65-gallon-35518/)

FishObsessed 01-18-2010 12:51 PM

Advice for stocking a new 50-65 gallon planted tank

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to any serious fish keeping. I'm helping my parents set up a new tank as a housewarming gift. I get the fun of the design and the setup without having yet another tank! They would like a 50-65 gallon tank, and they want angelfish. I'm thinking:

4-6 angelfish (of some sort, I know they come in different varieties)
10ish cardinal tetras (to cover the schooling fish)
1-2 corydoras? (for clean up duty, I know they don't eat algae but plecos seem...tempermental)

I would also like some live plants, but I'm going to stick to easy keepers that won't need CO2 or fancy fertilization. Dad has 125 gallon saltwater tank now, and plenty of experience with both fresh and saltwater tropical tanks, but he wants something easy. For plants, I was going to go with:

Taxiphyllum barbieri - Java moss (it's doing so well, tied to driftwood in my 8 gallon tank)
Hemianthus micranthemoides - pearlgrass or hairgrass (I don't know about this, but it looks like an easy foreground plant)
or Eleocharis parvula - Dwarf hairgrass (another one I don't know well...it looks like an easy keeper)
Vallisneria sp. - Don't know the common name, but I have americana in my 8 gallon, it makes an easy background plant