Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Hey, I'm new too! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/hey-im-new-too-35171/)

ltkettch17 01-11-2010 08:56 PM

Hey, I'm new too!

Hey all,

Just thought I'd take the time to say hello.

I've been keeping fish for about 18 years now and I'm not looking back. I'm on my third tank now, but I've never had anything bigger than a 29 gallon. I've never had any fish that I would consider especially challenging or amazing in any way. Basically, I like the "natural" look with a lot of small fish swimming between the plants and rocks. I've got some plans for some future tanks, but I currently don't have the time, money, or space to do anything more than just plan.

Check out my current build here. Like I said, nothing too exciting. Your basic 29 gallon tank, under-gravel filter, silk plants, fake decorations. I'm starting to get a little too much algae for my taste, but I guess that can happen to a tank that's been running for more than 6 years and been moved once.
Right now there's a large Male Gourami, 1 male Congo Tetra and 2 females, a mature male and female swordtail with 5 fry all about a month apart, and a single dwarf pleco (12 fish total). I feed flakes in the morning and in the evening, although I alternate evening feedings with a freeze dried multi-pak cube. Maintenance wise, I do a 10 gallon water change every two weeks. This seems to be pretty successful; I know I should probably do it every week but I'm lazy, okay?

Check out my tank and let me know what you think!

dramaqueen 01-11-2010 09:13 PM

Hello and welcome to the forum.

aunt kymmie 01-11-2010 09:46 PM

Welcome to the forum, ltkettch17. I just had a look at your tank. It's a beautiful set up. :-)

mrdemin 01-11-2010 09:48 PM