Tropical Fish Keeping banner

new to forum-some pics of tank...advice?

2K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  Byron 
#1 ·
This is my tank that i planted one month ago, not sure if i put plants in the optimal places, but most seem to be doing fine, any advice for me about acuascaping, or plant health would be much appreciated. All comments are welcome.:) I'm new to live plants, but not to keeping fish, i've had my tank for 3 years. I just thought the idea of live plants would make my tank more attractive. I'm always ready to hear some imput from other aquarists.

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
My lighting is Solar T5 HO 2x25 watt from catalina...67k 10k. I've been lighting for 12 hours a day. I've had some issues with some spot algae that i posted about earlier ( and recieved some useful advice on). Algae is one of my biggest fears, but i understand that it is almost unavoidable. I have 3 striped otto cinclus as algae eaters. I"m always ready to hear advice on how to prevent algae growth. I hope that my dense population and added CO2 will starve out the algae. I think that i'm about to start using some ferts, i was told flourish excel 1x a week. I have a flourite black substrate topped with estes silicon based marine sand (so as to not raise my ph). Thank you for your encouragement, and welcome. I'm looking forward to hearing what everyone has to say.

#4 ·
I commented on the alage matter in your other thread again, so I won't repeat it here.
But as I tried to explain over there, IMO what you really need is a comprehensive fert such as this Flourish, Plant Fertilizers/Additives | Pet Solutions
Excel IMO would only help your matter lil to non since you have a well stocked tank (so you're having CO2 from the fish there already).

Otherwise: Nice pictures, give it time to grow in, trim your stem plants (by pinching off and stick back in the ground) when they get too tall and your tank will fill out nicely in no time at all :)

#5 ·