Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Biological Filtration (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/biological-filtration-35069/)

molly100a 01-10-2010 09:38 AM

Biological Filtration

I currently have a rena xp3 running on my 110 gal freshwater tank using chem stars for my biological needs. Should I change to ceramic, whats the difference. Also I'm using two carbon packs and three ammo packs, should I be doing somthing else?

iamntbatman 01-12-2010 03:17 AM

I can't comment on the bio chem stars vs. ceramic debate as I've never used the stars before.

As for the other media...I personally don't see the point in using things like Ammo Chips. Sure, this stuff absorbs ammonia. The problem? It has a limited lifespan and must be replaced in order to keep working. If you don't replace it, its ammonia-absorbing abilities weaken and eventually go away. Why would you want something like this when you can just grow a nice healthy colony of bacteria to do this same job without the need to be replaced on a regular basis? I would gradually remove the Ammo Chips and replace it with more biological/mechanical filtration material. You'll be spending less money and you'll have a filter that doesn't rely on maintenance in order to retain an effective means of getting the ammonia out of your tank.