Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Need advise fast regarding 14 gallon tank that is cycling and has ammonia spike (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/need-advise-fast-regarding-14-gallon-35027/)

HollyinWA 01-09-2010 12:58 PM

Need advise fast regarding 14 gallon tank that is cycling and has ammonia spike
 
I tested the water again and the ammonia level just will not go down. I could not find one of the platties so knew that something must be wrong with it. I then found him hiding within a turdle ornament. He is not dead. I lifted it up and he swam away but even though he does not look real bad, I can tell he is not right. I am sure that the cycling procedure is getting to him. I thought for sure that it would affect the tetras first. The other two platties act fine and the Tetras seem ok, but I can tell they are not as happy as they should be.

This is my question. Since it seems like water changes are not bringing the level down, should i move them to my 55 gallon tank that is starting the cycling process but has not yet showed ammonia yet? Maybe thier 14 gallon tank will plummit back down before the 55 gallon peaks way up with ammonia. I just hate to see fish in bad conditions. I know that the Ammo Lock has kept them alive so far, but as far as I have read it detoxifies 3.0 ammonia so there may be some that they are having to deal with.

What else can I do? Never again will I cycle a tank with fish. I wonder why I do not remember having problems before. ?? I don't think it has a good enough biological filtration to do a quicker job in the beginning. I should have used a internal sponge filter as well. I only have a 150 BioWheel right now. I used to use underground filters as well as a back filter for this kind of tank so that could be another reason why I am having more trouble cycling. Since I decided to not go with the undergravel filter because of the new negative thoughts on them, I should have replaced that with the insde sponge filter. Live and learn.

Please advise. Thanks.

HollyinWA 01-09-2010 01:01 PM

P.S. I am going to go to Petco today to get a sponge filter. I don't think I saw any at Petsmart...may have been out of them. I think the tank needs more airiation than the biowheel is giving it.

Angel079 01-09-2010 01:26 PM

Do another large w/c right away. That's the only thing you can do while cycling with fish, some folks even have to do them 2x day till the tank is cycled in order to keep their fish...cycling with fish is a pain in the *you know where at*

HollyinWA 01-09-2010 01:29 PM

Well, I made my own decision and put them in the 55 gallon. I should have done this 2 days ago, but for some reason did not consider it seriously because I knew the 55 gallon was not cycled. I have never had two tanks cycling at the same time. They are all happy right now. What a relief. I have been feeding the 55 gallon tank for three days, so I am sure there will be some ammonia showing up soon. But, nowhere near what these fish were just in....the highest it had been yet in that tank....maxed on the chart. This will be way better than that and it may not ever get that high since there is more water and less fish per gallons. I don't think I have ever had ammonia that high when cycling with fish.

Anyway, I feel much better now. The platty that was hiding this morning is swimming around with his buddies like he is in bliss right now with better water and more of it! I just hope none of the fish have permanent damage. I think that since the ammonia spiked even higher than yesterday, the Ammo Lock was not detoxifying enough of it and they were still having to deal with a toxic level. I wish I had that test kit that divides the test between ammonia and ammonium.

I will keep you posted.

HollyinWA 01-09-2010 01:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Angel079 (Post 302744)
Do another large w/c right away. That's the only thing you can do while cycling with fish, some folks even have to do them 2x day till the tank is cycled in order to keep their fish...cycling with fish is a pain in the *you know where at*


Ooops, we may have posted at the same time. I decided not to leave the fish in there even if I did a water change. I did one 35% - 40% one of the times and it did not budge it. I guess I could have done a real big one before deciding to put the fish in the 55 gallon, but I think I made the right decision. They needed a big relief. Now my question is, should I do a water change without the fish in there or leave it to do its thing?

NEVER AGAIN WILL I CYCLE WITH FISH!

Angel079 01-09-2010 01:35 PM

That's good.
Is either of the tank well planted? That also helps by miles in cycling.

I wish you luck girl! And a fish less cycle for the next new tank to counter act the headache there :-)

HollyinWA 01-09-2010 01:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Angel079 (Post 302759)
That's good.
Is either of the tank well planted? That also helps by miles in cycling.

I wish you luck girl! And a fish less cycle for the next new tank to counter act the headache there :-)

Thanks so much Natalie for your support. :-) It really helps to let out stress and talk outloud with my fellow fish lovers online. ;-) The 14 gallon does have plants, but I need to put in the ones that I bought in the 55 gallon, in the 55 gallon. I had not yet put them in there because of the lack of good lighting and the fact that I "was" going to cycle it fishless...so I was not as worried about it. I was going to put them in there anyway today before I got the better lighting because I am sure the plants would be better off in there than in the darn plastic containers. I got them before knowing that I was not going to get the better lighting at that other place. She qouted the better lighting to high for me. I am going to place the order online for the lighting by Monday.

Angel079 01-09-2010 03:56 PM

You are VERY welcome...trust me I just recently learned the hard way just how much headache one singel tank can cause and just how important positive encouragement is...I'd have tossed my 55g a long time ago were it not for the people on here :-)

I was gonna say...just go ahead and plant them, even if your light ain't changed yet, they'll survive few days :-)
Edit: What I was gonna say...lol it'll actually help your tank putting the plants in right away as far as cycle.

Try combo your light & pre-filter order at the petsoultion link I send ya earlier. All my stuff ordered from them always arrives within 3 days and I found so far, they have very good deals on their stuff (compared to other online places). That's where I get ALL my stuff except plants and fish due to lack of resources locally.

stephanieleah 01-10-2010 12:43 AM

Just want to put in my two cents here...

Have you checked the ammonia level of your tap water? I know that mine has .5-1ppm ammonia so I get ammonia readings even after water changes, but I know that it is converted ammonia and not harmful to my fish. But the ammonia reading still shows up on my test kit. I learned this when I was super stressed out about my qt that i was doing frequent water changes and each time it seemed like the ammonia would go up.

HollyinWA 01-11-2010 12:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stephanieleah (Post 303197)
Just want to put in my two cents here...

Have you checked the ammonia level of your tap water? I know that mine has .5-1ppm ammonia so I get ammonia readings even after water changes, but I know that it is converted ammonia and not harmful to my fish. But the ammonia reading still shows up on my test kit. I learned this when I was super stressed out about my qt that i was doing frequent water changes and each time it seemed like the ammonia would go up.

Thanks for your two cents. :) I have not tested it directly, but I am pretty confident there is no ammonia in our water. One reason is because when I first set up tanks there is no ammonia showing at all. I will run a test, but doubt there is.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2