Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   A very BIG new tank for a complete NOVICE (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/very-big-new-tank-complete-novice-34752/)

vijay 01-04-2010 08:01 PM

A very BIG new tank for a complete NOVICE

I work for a small company in Cambodia who have decided to set up an office aquarium and I have been charged with the care of it.

I have absolutely no idea of how to care for tropical freshwater fish. I have read through a number of tropical fish care websites but still have a number of questions with which I hope you can help with.

The websites that I have seen look at general hobbyists with home fish tanks of 20 to 50 gallons and none the size of the tank we have.

My boss has ordered an aquarium with the following dimensions 1700mm x 800mm x 750mm. Simple arithmetic works this out to be some 1,020 litres capacity or 270 gallons. That is a lot of water and very heavy to boot - in the region of 1 metric tonne.

I should be grateful if you could help with the following. For a tank of this size:
What sort of equipment will I need in terms of pumps, filters, lighting and heating and what sort of power will be required? I am particularly concerned about getting equipment capable of doing the job for a tank that size. I do not want equipment that is underpowered for the requirements.
How many fish should we get?
What sort of sizes? How big should the biggest fish be and how small the smallest? How many big fish? Obviously, a tank full of 5 centimetre fish will look silly.
What types of fish should we get that will co-exist without wanting to fight or eat each other?.