Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   biorb life or rio 125 which one? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/biorb-life-rio-125-one-34443/)

andykent 12-30-2009 05:18 AM

biorb life or rio 125 which one?

Hello all, I was lucky enough to get some money for christmas and have always wanted a fish tank, my wife really likes the biorb life in black to go with her
iphone most probably lol but from reading other threads i would be able to keep more fish in something like a rio 125 which seems really well priced.
Please please please give me some advice as i dont know anyone with a fish tank, has anyone got either of these tanks or would you recommend something else,
please remember im a newbie:oops:

Angel079 12-30-2009 08:57 AM

Hello & welcome to the forum.

When buying a new tank, rule no 1 - The bigger the better. With small tanks you're VERY limited to what/ how many you can put in there. Additionally smaller tanks are far harder, specially for beginners to maintain properly.
For both these reasons, I'd suggest you a larger tank, that will be easy for you to maintain and open up to many more fish options for you.

Possibly you may want to look into buying a tank used, safe money on the tank will allow you to buy a bigger one. Check Cragslist or aquabit.com for your area (or whatever other local paper you have).