Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Livebearers (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/)
-   -   New Tank - Advice on the Number/Mix of Livebearers (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/new-tank-advice-number-mix-livebearers-3441/)

DDare 02-19-2007 06:29 PM

New Tank - Advice on the Number/Mix of Livebearers

I am a beginner/intermediate aquarist and just upgraded from a 10 gal to a 75 gallon tank. I have 3 swords (male (black hi-fin) and two females (one black hi-fin and one red velvet wag); don't ask!)) that I transferred to the new tank. I like swords and the big tank really shows off their colors and swimming, but I am not sure how best to integrate more swords or other livebearers into a large community tank. A couple of things about my interests and concerns:

1. I have no particular interest in breeding
2. I like swords, but I wouldn't mind having mollies and plattys as well, but don't know how their behavior would compare
3. I don't want guppies
4. I don't want more than 5 to 7 livebearers in the tank and I already have 3 swords
5. I am only going to have about 5 or 6 species in this tank (with two large schooling groups and no cats except an algae eater)
6. I've been thinking about a red velvet wag pair (making 3 wags) and another black hi-fin female, resulting in 6 swords - two males and 4 females.
7. Can I have two male swords in the same tank without fighting?
8. The swords are very aggressive eaters, and I am concerned that more than 3 swords could make it hard for others to eat.

Thanks for any advice you may have.

musho3210 02-19-2007 06:35 PM

can i just ask you what algae eater? A good large schooling species is the giant danio.

DDare 02-19-2007 08:38 PM