Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   Clueless new tank have brown algae everywhere what to do (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/clueless-new-tank-have-brown-algae-33675/)

csago05 12-11-2009 11:58 PM

Clueless new tank have brown algae everywhere what to do

Okay I am new to all of this. This is my first tank and I am lost already have done a little reserch but not alot. I started the tank about a week ago. It is a 55 gal and I put maybe 40 lbs of live rock( well at least that is what the guy said but not to sure did not get it from a store) 30 lbs of dead rock, 40 lbs of dead sand and then 40lbs of the salt and pepper live sand on top. I have a 350 Magnum Bio Wheel filter, a Red Sea Prizm protein skimmer and two power heads( no clue what kind). I have an in-line heater set at 75. I have a 48 inch compact flourcent light and a 175 w metal halide. I belive that is all the stuff I have. Like i said I started about a week ago and I am starting to get this dark brown algae growing on all my rock, I am just wondering if that is normal if not what do I do to get rid of it? I would greatly appreciate any help like I said I am clueless and i would really like to make this work.

zaitmi 12-12-2009 06:47 AM

Sounds like a diatom bloom to me. Are they also in your substrate. Dont worry, If its diatom bloom it will go off within a couple of weeks.

More senior guys can help you with this problem.

wake49 12-12-2009 07:15 AM

Test Calcium, Alkalinity, pH, Nitrate, Nitrite, ammonia and salinity. Post your results. And that Bio-Wheel filter will become a problem in the near future. You have more than enough filtration with the Live Rock and Live Sand you have in your tank. How deep is that sand bed? You are looking for 4-6" deep.