Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   Transforming my tank form freshwater to saltwater (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/transforming-my-tank-form-freshwater-saltwater-33086/)

moealza 11-29-2009 07:01 PM

Transforming my tank form freshwater to saltwater

I have a 30 gallon tank that currently holds fresh water fish... To tell you the truth fresh water fish are boring... they aren't as nice as salt water fish so I decided to change to salt water.

The tank has a filter and air-bubble machine. That's all.

If I wanted to transform it into a saltwater tank, can I keep the filter machine or is a special one needed? Also what other items are required for the saltwater tank that I am missing...

I am a beginner to all this but I have some fresh water fish that have survived with my care for months now....

NC Frank 11-29-2009 07:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by moealza (Post 282382)
I have a 30 gallon tank that currently holds fresh water fish... To tell you the truth fresh water fish are boring... they aren't as nice as salt water fish so I decided to change to salt water.

The tank has a filter and air-bubble machine. That's all.

If I wanted to transform it into a saltwater tank, can I keep the filter machine or is a special one needed? Also what other items are required for the saltwater tank that I am missing...

I am a beginner to all this but I have some fresh water fish that have survived with my care for months now....

You can use your current filter for chemical filtration (carbon).