Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   planted tank cycling (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/planted-tank-cycling-32236/)

pelon_mx 11-13-2009 03:12 PM

planted tank cycling
 
Hi Byron I believe that you said in the beginning of this thread ther is almost no or no tank cycling when you have a planted tank, I have been looking for thank cycling since I started up my tank 2 weeks ago and looking for an ammonia or nitrite spike that didn't show up until now. Do I still have to expect one, if not can I put more fishload in my tank the way it is now?
I loaded up a picture of my thank but couldn't find how to put the tank parameters in the there.
The parameter changes are following:
First water test 11/02/ last water test 11/12/2009

GH from 16 to 14
KH from 11 to 7
PH from 7.5 to 8
NH3/NH4 =0
NO2 from 0 to 0.3

Regards
Chris

Byron 11-14-2009 10:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pelon_mx (Post 273441)
Hi Byron I believe that you said in the beginning of this thread ther is almost no or no tank cycling when you have a planted tank, I have been looking for thank cycling since I started up my tank 2 weeks ago and looking for an ammonia or nitrite spike that didn't show up until now. Do I still have to expect one, if not can I put more fishload in my tank the way it is now?
I loaded up a picture of my thank but couldn't find how to put the tank parameters in the there.
The parameter changes are following:
First water test 11/02/ last water test 11/12/2009

GH from 16 to 14
KH from 11 to 7
PH from 7.5 to 8
NH3/NH4 =0
NO2 from 0 to 0.3

Regards
Chris

I'll assume the tank is the 70g shown in the photo under your "Aquariums." [By the way, you can add specs there, further down on "parameters".]

You'd need more plants to qualify as "well planted" but what you have are swords and they should be sufficient for a few fish. I would not expect to see ammonia or nitrite above zero in this tank. NO2 is nitrite, so if you meant that (as opposed to nitrate NO3), then it appears to be increasing. You must have quite a good test kit to measure it down to .3, my API won't do that, it goes from zero to .5. I wouldn't add more fish if you are getting nitrite readings, especially with rising pH. Any idea what's causing that? Especially since hardness appears to be falling.

Byron.

pelon_mx 11-14-2009 02:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Byron (Post 273836)
I'll assume the tank is the 70g shown in the photo under your "Aquariums." [By the way, you can add specs there, further down on "parameters".]

You'd need more plants to qualify as "well planted" but what you have are swords and they should be sufficient for a few fish. I would not expect to see ammonia or nitrite above zero in this tank. NO2 is nitrite, so if you meant that (as opposed to nitrate NO3), then it appears to be increasing. You must have quite a good test kit to measure it down to .3, my API won't do that, it goes from zero to .5. I wouldn't add more fish if you are getting nitrite readings, especially with rising pH. Any idea what's causing that? Especially since hardness appears to be falling.

Byron.

Nitrite (NO") reading should say <0.3 mg/l
Certainly I will put more plants in the tank, need to go to go to another LFS and find some different ones.
Also planning to install more light for the Amazone Swords, planning to install two aditional lamps (T8) of normal daylight (4100K)

Chris

Byron 11-14-2009 02:27 PM

Given your info, I would suggest it is OK to add a few more fish; and certainly plants at any time. However, the following issue should first be resolved.

There is still the issue of the hardness and pH. This may be from the gravel, if it is calcareous. Do you know what type of gravel it is? This is going to be a problem depending upon the fish you want, and perhaps also the plants.

Also, do you have the numbers for your tap water (without any conditioner), pH and hardness?

Byron.

pelon_mx 11-16-2009 08:01 PM

I added yesterday to my fishtank
1 Bristlenose pleco
7 Neon Tetra (3 of them passed already :-()
1 Angelfish (got it for free)
3 Bunches of Elodea
2 Bunches of Hygrophila polysperma
2 Bunches of "Cola de zorro" ( Ceratophyllum Demersum)

pelon_mx 11-17-2009 03:08 PM

Byron, I made a tapwater test with care and the results are the following

GH=16
KH=9
PH=8

Byron 11-17-2009 04:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pelon_mx (Post 275817)
Byron, I made a tapwater test with care and the results are the following

GH=16
KH=9
PH=8

Thanks. These numbers indicate that your tapwater is the reason the aquarium water tests as it does, so there are no extraneous issues. You will have to live within the tap water parameters. The KH will buffer the pH to avoid fluctuations, which means a stable pH which is good. I'll leave it at that unless you have further questions.

Byron.

pelon_mx 11-17-2009 05:06 PM

Thanks you so much Byron.
Chris


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2