Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Starting fresh!!! new 10 gallon tank!!! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/starting-fresh-new-10-gallon-tank-32077/)

Blaxicanlatino 11-11-2009 02:08 PM

Starting fresh!!! new 10 gallon tank!!!
 
A friend of mine gave me a used 10 gallon tank that he use to have 3 huge 5 inch fancy goldfish in! i sold the fish cause its no way i could tank care of them in such a small tank that isnt even cycled yet!!! so i sold them. Anyway:
i already have a 10 gallon tank going so i put the sponge from my old tank into the new used tank to help it cycle. any tips to speed it up? i dont wanna use live animals to make it cycle faster.
Im thinking of, once its cycled, to put guppys in.
I want to put live plants in. Im using a DIY co2 deal.
it has 2 places to put lights in the hood so i just need to bye light bulbs. how many watts should i use?

i want to use flourite but i have no expereince with this stuff. do i use that as substrate? or do i put it under the substrate? i want to use sand. how much flourite to i use for my 10 gallon tank?
can i use simple play sand from home depot?

I also noticed a dark green stuff growing in my filter. whats this?

sorry for all the questions lol
i just want the new 10 gallon tank to be perfect

Angel079 11-11-2009 03:00 PM

Very smart move taking these fish outta there!!!!
If you use existing filter media from any WELL established tank and squish it & rinse it in the new 10g you'll have all necessary bacteria in it. Add to it a bunch new live plants and you can start stocking SLOWLY, eg. Put 2 Guppies in then & there, then another 2 the week after.
Meanwhile doing all of this of cause keep checking your water parameters to ensure noting goes up & outta control (but I'm sure you know all this).
You don't really need CO2 provided the plants have the proper lights.

Sorry can't help you with the special substrate there..Mine always all got gravel, water & light and were growing enormously that way.
Personally I'd form a base of that stuff for each plant and then sand over top of it and that don't need much but a few lbs for a 10g then.

Dark green like hairy? Like algae!?

Blaxicanlatino 11-11-2009 03:33 PM

Cool thanks. It's more like a dark green and smooth sheets of it

Blaxicanlatino 11-11-2009 04:23 PM

what else should I do?

Byron 11-11-2009 04:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blaxicanlatino (Post 272290)
Cool thanks. It's more like a dark green and smooth sheets of it

If your filter is in light (i.e. not a canister), the green stuff sounds like cyanobacteria, a slimy algae-like stuff that is not a true algae but generally classed as such for treatment. Just clean it out. Excess nutrients, too much light, things out of balance...all can cause it. For some reason it frequently occurs in tanks with Cryptocornye plants.

I agree with Angel, in a 10g I would not go to the expense and trouble/bother of CO2 and special substrates. But that depends upon what you want, it is your aquarium.

Byron.

Blaxicanlatino 11-11-2009 04:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Byron (Post 272320)
If your filter is in light (i.e. not a canister), the green stuff sounds like cyanobacteria, a slimy algae-like stuff that is not a true algae but generally classed as such for treatment. Just clean it out. Excess nutrients, too much light, things out of balance...all can cause it. For some reason it frequently occurs in tanks with Cryptocornye plants.

I agree with Angel, in a 10g I would not go to the expense and trouble/bother of CO2 and special substrates. But that depends upon what you want, it is your aquarium.

Byron.

well its gonna be a heavily planted tank. i wanna plant plants such as baby tears and water wisteria in the tank. maybe even red lotus. so i think im going to need bright lights. so thats why i think maybe i might need flourite and DIY co2

Angel079 11-11-2009 05:26 PM

Still I wouldn't bother personally with non that fancy stuff, you can find some pictures of my tanks in this thread http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/f...r-31628/page2/ and as I said that was all water&light& gravel (and fish of cause).
The biggest key IMO for proper plants is the light and nothing else. Dep on your source water maybe some extra nutrition as far as plant fertilizer but that's to the extent that I'd do it.

Angel079 11-11-2009 05:27 PM

PS no matter how much "fancy" stuff you put in a tank, if your biological system is not right for one reason or another it'll cause you troubles regardless.

Blaxicanlatino 11-11-2009 06:26 PM

so i shouldnt use flourite? i just dont wanna put the substrate in then find out i need flourite only to dig up the tank to put the flourite in.

what kind of sand should i use then? can i just use normal sand or play sand found at home dept?

Angel079 11-11-2009 06:34 PM

Its your tank hun!
If YOU feel you need it and wanna spent the extra money, go for it.
Me personally I'd not buy it and IF needed (which I doubt with a good water source & proper lights like I said before) IFF you still need something then buy plant fertilizer.

And here again, you can gladly spent the $ for "Aquarium sand" or go to any home store and buy Play sand (I say play sand cause "random" otherwise used sand for eg. construction could have other stuff in it you don't want, play sand if child safe so no additives).

Hope that helps ya.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2