Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   possible overflow design? what do you think (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/possible-overflow-design-what-do-you-31996/)

jzon414 11-09-2009 05:56 PM

possible overflow design? what do you think

1 Attachment(s)
ok so im new to the auquarium world here, so i really have no idea what im talking about here but bear with me... iv been reading up on here about how to set up a tank. im getting a 105Gal tank from a buddy and i want to make it a salt tank. obviously i want as little in the tank (equipment wise) as possible. its a non drilled tank, and i really dont want a hang on overflow to be seen in the tank. so i was thinking about how to do it with as little showing as possible. once again i dont know what im doing for sure so if its a stupid ass idea dont hesitate to tell me that. or if this has already been done, but i havent seen it

k so here it is...

i want to take the tank to a glass shop and have them drill 2 holes on the back wall, in the top left and top right corners. install a bulkhead grommet in each and run them (with PVC) to the sump along the back. the red in the pic is the pressure/return pipe, purple is suction/ sump feed. i would keep both holes up high in case of power outage/pump failure. the dark blue shows normal operating water level, and the light blue shows theoretical level of each tank in the event of a failure. the yellow and red thing on the pic is a ball valve to maybe control the sump feed flow so as to not overfill or put more water in the sump then the pump is taking out.

please look and let me know your oppinions on why this will/wont work. thank you :)

nfored 11-10-2009 04:48 AM