Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Livebearers (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/)
-   -   Fancy Guppies Help? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/fancy-guppies-help-31814/)

paytheplayer 11-06-2009 10:09 AM

Fancy Guppies Help?

After being told that fancy guppies are perfect for beginners (Im not a beginner BTW) I figured that they would be a nice addition to my 120g community tank. I went ahead and bought 2 because the colours were amazing. Now i'm hearing things like they are known to catch disease? Is this true?
Also any other info would be helpful. Thanks!

aquariangel 11-06-2009 10:43 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by paytheplayer (Post 269715)
After being told that fancy guppies are perfect for beginners (Im not a beginner BTW) I figured that they would be a nice addition to my 120g community tank. I went ahead and bought 2 because the colours were amazing. Now i'm hearing things like they are known to catch disease? Is this true?
Also any other info would be helpful. Thanks!

I'm no expert but we've been keeping and breeding guppies for a while now. We've got three varieties, two (pics attached) of which are producing fry. I've read everything I can get my hands on and am a member of a couple forums, one dedicated to gups. Fancy gups really are pretty hardy fish. Here are a few links that may be helpful to you. Best of luck, it's addictive. I got MTS from my boyfriend almost two years ago and it just keeps growing :-D

The last one has a dedicated forum to which I belong. It's very helpful and some of the members here are also members there.

Fancy Guppy

Guppies for Aquariums

Guppy care | Fancy guppy

guppies - Guppy Diseases

bearwithfish 11-06-2009 10:54 AM